It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

I am currently reading:

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan To Fetch a Thief by Spencer Quinn

  1. A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan – I like this book enough, but I do not feel compelled to pick it up at every available moment. There are so many characters narrating the story, which jumps around in time. I spend a few minutes at the beginning of each chapter mentally going through the list of characters in order to figure out who is narrating.
  2. To Fetch a Thief by Spencer Quinn – I had a stressful week last week and found myself more in the mood to listen to music than books on my way to work. Really, I will finish it this week.

Last week I finished:

Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante

Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante – I enjoyed this book, but it may have suffered from my reading it after Before I Go to Sleep (my review). Turn of Mind is about a former surgeon with Alzheimer’s who is accused of killing her neighbor. The book essentially chronicles her deterioration over a fairly short amount of time, while she and her family deal with the murder accusation. Review soon. (4 out of 5)

Upcoming:

Beaglemania by Linda O. Johnston

Beaglemania by Linda O. Johnston

Additional:

Hell to Pay by George Pelecanos

I picked up Hell to Pay for my nook. I can’t resist a $1.99 deal from a favorite author. I have only read Pelecanos’ stand-alone novels. I can’t wait to try this series. I picked up the first, Right as Rain, about a month ago.

What are you reading this week?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. I’m looking forward to reading TURN OF MIND. Hearing a bit of mixed reviews, but that’s OK. Every book can’t appeal the say way to everyone. 🙂

    Like

    • I enjoyed Turn of Mind, and I think it probably met the author’s intended goal. However, I had just read Before I Go To Sleep, which was such a fantastic and suspenseful memory loss book that it would have been hard for any other memory loss book to stack up next to it.

      Like

  2. I’ve been curious about The Goon Squad since seeing it on Goodreads. Sorry it’s not really grabbing you so far.

    It’s hard to focus on reading when you are busy & when the book isn’t a good page turner. I’m reading a couple books now and I’m iffy on them so far. It’s a struggle to move on to the next book after you’ve just finished a great read I guess.

    Great deal on Hell to Pay! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Like

    • I do like Goon Squad, but it is a little confusing. There are a lot of characters to keep track of, so sometimes I have to read the first few paragraphs of a chapter several times to orient myself to the narrator and the time frame.

      I hope your books get better, Lucy!

      Like

    • I understand that, Alyce. I decided to read it for the Goodreads book club challenge. The book has so much hype! It’s good, but not blow my socks off good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

