It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

We dropped Clifford off for his first injection of heartworm treatment this morning. Be well, Cliffie!

I am getting over a hideous cold/cough. Yesterday I took some cold medication that knocked me out for most of the day. I feel like I lost an entire day.

I am currently reading:

The Best American Mystery Stories 2011 The Dead Kid Detective Agency by Evan Munday

The Best American Mystery Stories 2011 – I finally picked it back up again! I have been carrying this one over each week for a ridiculous length of time. I need to finish it already.

The Dead Kid Detective Agency by Evan Munday – I picked up this NetGalley read yesterday while in a cold medication fog. It seems cute and promising.

During the past two weeks I finished reading:

Room by Emma Donoghue Wicked Witch Murder by Leslie Meier

Room by Emma Donoghue – It is rare that a book makes me feel uncomfortable, but this one managed to do just that. It was an uncomfortable read, but one that I could not put down! I read it for a book club, but then I was too sick to go to the book club yesterday. Sad face! (5 out of 5 stars)

Wicked Witch Murder by Leslie Meier – This was the first book I have read in the Lucy Stone series, but it was perfect for my mood which called for a light, Halloween-ish read! (4 out of 5 stars)

Happy reading!

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. I’ve had “Room” on my TBR shelf for quite a while now — started it, but then put it aside for other things. I need to get back to it, although the bit I read didn’t really grab me. “Wicked Witch Murder” sounds like a fun read.

    Like

  2. I’m not going to read Room, but I’m happy you liked it! Dead Kid Detective Agency looks great.

    Glad you’re feeling better and wishes for Clifford’s treatment to be successful. He’s been through enough.

    Hope this week goes more smoothly.

    Like

  3. Sorry you have a cold- wish I could send you some not-chicken-noodle-soup! Hope Clifford’s treatment goes smoothly today.

    Glad you enjoyed Room. It is haunting to read the events from the child’s perspective. Makes it more disturbing to imagine the things going on that he hasn’t put together.

    The Dead Kid Detective Agency looks cute & I love the cover.
    Have a good week!

    Like

    • It’s funny you mention not-chicken noodle soup! I wanted the Amy’s version from the grocery store, but they were out. I settled for some lentil soup.

      Yes, I was surprised by how much Room sucked me in. I just had to know the outcome, and I was quite surprised by a few things.

      Like

    • They definitely aren’t straightforward mysteries, but they are good stories. Even the ones that I start reading and think – this isn’t a subject area that I am interested in (ex. terrorists) – I find that I get sucked in anyway and I want to know the ending.

      Like

Leave a Reply

