It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

It was a rainy, cold weekend so I spent a lot of time reading and knitting. We need the rain in Texas, so I’m not complaining one bit.

Do all of the books I read revolve around dogs? It certainly appears so this week!

I am currently reading:

Seizure by Kathy Reichs Brute Strength by Susan Conant

Seizure by Kathy Reichs – I moved straight into this young adult audiobook after listening to the first in the series, Virals.

Brute Strength by Susan Conant – This is a favorite series of mine, although I have not read them all. The ones that I have read were done completely out of order (story of my life). I look forward to this latest installment.

During the past month I finished reading:

1222 by Anne Holt Virals by Kathy Reichs

1222 by Anne Holt – This was a Galley Grab read of a new-to-me author and series. The concept was interesting, but the book fell flat for me. Also, a big negative: This was yet another novel that featured a pit bull attacking a person, followed by the violent killing of the dog. Full review to come. (2 out of 5 stars)

Virals by Kathy Reichs – I loved this novel featuring smart high school kids with strong ecological and scientific interests. This would be a great novel for a budding scientist. (4 out of 5 stars)

Upcoming:

I’m not sure yet! I was trying to decide whether to join any 2012 challenges, but I am finding it difficult to get reviews written. I think I will just set a goal to read a certain number of books to read and that will be that. Have a great week, everyone!

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. I’ve seen ‘Virals’ around quite a lot recently and am definitely curious. I’m not much of a scientist (budding or otherwise!) but it does sound fascinating. I think because of the ecological slant.

    I was struggling with the idea of challenges for 2012 too – I was a bit over keen in 2011 and have ended up not finishing a couple..oops! I picked two in the end and one of those was only because instead of having a review requirement, it had group discussions and things. Sounded a bit more relaxed anyway 🙂

    Like

    • LitAddictedBrit, I am currently listening to Seizure, the second book in the Virals series, and it is much less science-y and much more adventure-y. At times, I feel like I am listening to Tomb Raider or something!

      After declaring I did not want to join any challenges, I may have found one that I want to do. I have not committed yet…

      Like

  2. Glad you enjoyed Virals and are jumping into the sequel. Bummer about 1222. I don’t think I’d like that one either. Pit bulls don’t need more bad press.

    I’m on the fence about 2012 challenges also. I joined several this year, but I’m thinking of only doing the debut author challenge and a total reading goal next year. It is hard to keep up with reading and reviews this time of year for sure.

    Have a great December, Dixie!

    Like

    • Lucy, I hope to get the full 1222 review up this week, but it happened to be the second book I have read in the last two months featuring a pit bull attack. Blah.

      Happy December to you!

      Like

  3. Good luck with your goal!
    I find challenges keep me focused on what I like to read 🙂

    Have a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    Like

  4. I’ve been debating about doing challenges next year. I think I feel enough pressure just from the books I’ve ordered from the library and am only able to keep for a week or two!
    Enjoy your reading this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

