2011 Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

2011 Reading ChallengeI set the goal for my 2011 Reading Challenge via Goodreads at 60 books. I exceeded my goal, reading 62 books! I began, but did not finish, two additional books.

I gave myself a teeny stretch goal to read 65 books in 2012.

When I started this blog last year, I was really excited to review books. I went crazy on NetGalley. I was having so much fun. As the year went on, I found it harder and harder to write reviews. I was still reading a lot, but I could not seem to find the time to sit down and write out a proper review. The last few months of 2011 primarily chronicled my reading via my “It’s Monday! What are you reading?” posts.

I am not sure where that leaves me going into 2012. Do I still want to review books? I love being part of the book blogging community. I just have a lot of commitments and hobbies – full-time job, 8 pets, gardening, knitting, DIYing around the house – and I have a hard time juggling everything.  I guess time will tell where I am headed, but I hope that you will stick with me while I figure it out.

Happy New Year!

8 thoughts on “2011 Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

  1. Yeah, I find book reviewing to be a drag sometimes too, and it can be hard not to beat yourself up if you skip a book or take awhile to get to something, but overall I still find it pretty rewarding. I hope you keep at it!

    Like

    • I find it rewarding as well. That is, when I’m not 5 reviews behind and feeling overwhelmed! I really feel like I hit a writing/reviewing dry spell. I just finished a book that prompted me to write a gushing (non-academic) review on Goodreads. That may have been the push I needed to get started again!

      Like

  2. Congrats on exceeding your reading goal, Dixie!

    I know what you mean about finding the time to write reviews. Sometimes it can feel like a chore. I do enjoy your blog and your reviews and hope you continue with it though.

    One review style I’ve seen lately is mini reviews where you write quick thoughts about several books on one post. Sometimes it’s daunting to come up with enough to say about a particular book, and that’s an alternative I’ve considered.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lucy!

      There were a few NetGalley books that I read and loved but could never bring myself to write a proper review. Now I feel too far removed to do them justice in a review. I may just do a few super mini reviews!

      Like

  3. Dixie, I think your little thought paragraphs on Mondays are quite enough. It gives a sense of what you felt about the book and if people want to know more, they can do some research. Well done!

    Like

  4. Hmm, reviewing books is fun but it’s also a drag. You could set yourself a limit of how many per month you want to do and then keep to that. That’s what I’m planning – although in January I already committed to more than what I said I would do. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

