It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

I am currently reading:

Gideon's Corpse by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child The Drama-Free Office by Jim Warner & Kaley Klemp

Gideon’s Corpse by Douglas Preston & Lee Child – I love Preston & Child’s Pendergast series but not so much this Gideon Crew series. I nearly gave up on this book several times. The subject matter, which includes terrorists and a nuclear bomb, just aren’t my cup of tea. While I have not given up on it yet, I am reading it very slowly.

The Drama-Free Office by Jim Warner & Kaley Klemp – This title speaks for itself, no? My husband picked it up for me as a joke while at the library yesterday, but I must admit that I am intrigued.

During the past two weeks I finished reading:

The House At Sea's End by Elly Griffiths Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye by Victoria Laurie A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty by Joshilyn Jackson Go the F**k to Sleep by Adam Mansbach

The House at Sea’s End by Elly Griffiths (Ruth Galloway #3) – I started writing a review for this, but I have not completed it yet. (4 out of 5 stars)
See also: The Crossing Places and The Janus Stone

Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye by Victoria Laurie – I really did not care for the narrator of this audiobook. She sounded too old for the character of Abby Cooper. I am not sure whether I would have liked the book better if I had read it. Abby Cooper’s way of detecting whether someone is lying is to hear, “Liar, liar, pants on fire,” in her head. After hearing it for the tenth time, it just seemed super cheesy. (2 out of 5 stars)

A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty by Joshilyn Jackson – This was my first time reading Joshilyn Jackson, and I 100% loved all of it. I devoured the book in two days. I picked up an audiobook by Joshilyn Jackson yesterday. I hope that I love it just as much. (5 out of 5 stars)

Go the F**k to Sleep by Adam Mansbach – Last week I needed a pick-me-up, so I listened to six minutes of Samuel L. Jackson goodness. Twice! Hilarious! I have no children, so I can only relate to this in dog terms. My dog has been throwing 3am barking tantrums. Sometimes I just want to give in to her tantrums and let her out of her crate so I can get some f**king sleep. This was a good laugh, and Samuel L. Jackson is the perfect narrator. (5 out of 5 stars)

Upcoming:

Reviews! I hope!

Have a great week, everyone!

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty sounds wonderful. I love finding unputdownable reads like that. Hope you enjoy Jackson’s other book too.

    That’s too bad about the Abby Cooper audio. It’s so disappointing when the narrator’s are miscast. I just picked up a stack of audios from the library and I’m crossing my fingers that the narrator’s are good.

    Go the f**k to sleep sounds hilarious!
    Have a great week, Dixie!

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Lucy! I picked up a bunch of audiobooks at the library yesterday, too. I wish I could listen to them while I work. Sometimes I have to use my brain too much to pay attention to the story. I find myself rewinding more than actually moving forward with the story.

      Like

    • Hi Ruby, Thanks for stopping by! Yes, I am familiar with Love and a Six Foot Leash. She recently moved here and is working with a local rescue group. Small world! It’s nice to meet other pet lovers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

